d. Sabela Grimes named 2014 United States Artists Fellow

As one of the largest grant-making organizations in the country providing direct support to artists, USA spotlights the importance of originality across every creative discipline, from literature and performance to crafts and theater. Celebrating the broad diversity of American artistic practices from coast to coast, USA cultivates a creative ecology that is diverse in age, race, religion, gender, and sexual orientation. USA honors innovative, accomplished artists at all stages of their careers, who are nominated by their peers and field experts for the quality, imagination, and enduring potential of their work in the following disciplines: Architecture & Design, Crafts & Traditional Arts, Dance, Literature, Media, Music, Theater and Visual Arts. Awards are entirely unrestricted and may be used by Fellows in any way they choose. The 34 recipients of this year’s awards were selected from 116 nominated artists living in the United States and Puerto Rico and were chosen by a panel of expert peers in each artistic discipline. “USA Fellowships are awarded to innovative artists of all ages and at all stages of their careers, who are nominated for their commitment to excellence and the enduring potential of their work,” said United States Artists CEO Carolina Garcia Jayaram. “We are honored to present this year’s Fellows, a group of artists who were selected through a rigorous, highly competitive process. Our Fellows embody originality across every creative discipline, celebrating the broad range of artistic practices in every region of the county, and cultivating a creative ecology that is diverse in age, race, religion, gender, and sexual orientation.” Founded in 2006 by the Ford, Rockefeller, Rasmuson and Prudential Foundations with $22 million to support artists in America, USA is currently funded by a broad range of philanthropic foundations and individuals. Since inception, through its signature USA Fellows program, USA has distributed $19.1 million in support to 405 artists. Past recipients of USA Fellowships include visual artists Glenn Ligon, Kara Walker, Theaster Gates and Catherine Opie; cartoonist Chris Ware; designers Kate and Laura Mulleavy (of Rodarte); performing artist Meredith Monk; jazz composer Jason Moran; ballet dancer and choreographer Benjamin Millepied; choreographer Bill T. Jones; and writer Sapphire.

The 2014 Fellows are:

ARCHITECTURE & DESIGN § Doris Sung, USA Hoi Fellow (Rolling Hills, CA) § Marlon Blackwell, USA Ford Fellow (Fayetteville, AR)  

CRAFTS & TRADITIONAL ARTS § Marcus Amerman, USA Rasmuson Fellow (Kooskia, ID) § Einar & Jamex de la Torre, USA Kaplan Fellows (San Diego, CA)   § Darryl Montana, USA Glasgow Fellow (New Orleans, LA) § Tip Toland, USA Windgate Fellow (Vaughn, WA)

DANCE § Alejandro Cerrudo, USA Donnelley Fellow (Chicago, IL) § d. Sabela Grimes, USA Rockefeller Fellow (Los Angeles, CA) § RoseAnne Spradlin, USA Ford Fellow (New York, NY)  

LITERATURE § Chris Abani, USA Ford Fellow (Evanston, IL) § Peter Bagge, USA Rockefeller Fellow (Seattle, WA) § Natalie Diaz, USA Ford Fellow (Mohave Valley, AZ) § Rigoberto González, USA Rolón Fellow (Forest Hills, NY) § Achy Obejas, USA Ford Fellow (Oakland, CA) § Daniel Woodrell, USA Zell Fellow (West Plains, MO)

MEDIA § Sydney Freeland, USA Ford Fellow (Los Angeles, CA) § Ken Jacobs, USA Simon Fellow (New York, NY) § Yowei Shaw, USA Knight Fellow (Philadelphia, PA) § Ryan White & Ben Cotner, USA Collins Fellows (Los Angeles, CA)

MUSIC § Alison Brown, USA Berresford Fellow (Nashville, TN) § Daoud Haroon, USA Lowe Fellow (Durham, NC) § Meshell Ndegeocello, USA Cummings Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)

THEATER § Kia Corthron, USA Jane Addams Fellow (New York, NY) § Sigrid Gilmer, USA Ford Fellow (Los Angeles, CA) § Sibyl Kempson, USA Rockefeller Fellow (New York, NY)

VISUAL ARTS § Willie Birch, USA James Baldwin Fellow (New Orleans, LA) § Sandow Birk, USA Knight Fellow (Long Beach, CA) § Edouard Duval Carrié, USA Knight Fellow (Miami, FL) § LaToya Ruby Frazier, USA Weitz Fellow (Chicago, IL) § Mary Heilmann, USA Oliver Fellow (New York, NY) § Leslie Hewitt, USA Francie Bishop Good and David Horvitz Fellow (New York, NY) § Wangechi Mutu, USA Jeanne and Michael Klein Fellow (Brooklyn, NY)

For more information on the 2014 USA Fellows, visit www.unitedstatesartists.org/2014fellows. Media Contacts: Justin Conner Third Eye This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. +1 917 609 8499 Mackie Healy Third Eye This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. +1 910 670 5882

Last month May 2019 Next month
week 18 1 2 3 4
week 19 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
week 20 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
week 21 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
week 22 26 27 28 29 30 31
No events

UCLA Department of World Arts Cultures/Dance
Box 951608, 150 Kaufman Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1608
Tel 310.825.3951
Email: wacinfo@arts.ucla.edu